Auston Matthews, Connor McDavid to serve as All-Star captains in Toronto: sources

Photo of author


Auston Matthews is set to serve as unofficial host for next month’s All-Star festivities in Toronto.

Not only was the NHL’s leading goal scorer chosen as the Maple Leafs’ representative during the first batch of All-Star selections announced Thursday night, but multiple industry sources say Matthews will be one of four team captains for the program. Will work as. Scotiabank Arena from 1-3 February.

The NHL has eliminated the divisional format for All-Star weekend and instead requires captains to draft their teams for a 3-on-3 tournament. That draft will be televised at the beginning of the weekend with a showcase of PWHL players. While the NHL is not expected to formally announce captains until later this month, Matthews and Edmonton Oilers superstar Connor McDavid have already agreed to lead two teams, according to sources.

The league is also revamping the format of its skills competition and Matthews has signed on as one of 12 players competing for a $1 million prize, with the prize now awarded to the individual who makes the most of eight Scores the most points in competitions.

It promises to put the former Hart Trophy winner front and center in the first All-Star weekend held in Toronto since 2000.

Matthews has now been selected as an All-Star in all seven NHL seasons where he has been eligible. On Wednesday he scored his 30th goal of the campaign in overtime to lead the Leafs to a win over Anaheim – putting him three ahead of Tampa Bay’s Nikita Kucherov in the league standings entering Thursday’s game – and the possibility of representing the Leafs Talked to journalists about it later. In your own backyard.

“Being in Toronto, it’s a special event,” he said. “So, I definitely don’t take it lightly. “I’m sure we have a lot of people who qualify to go.”

The Leafs are not alone in this regard, but they will need the fans’ help to get one or two more representatives to the game. The NHL selected one player from each of the 32 teams, with the remaining 12 All-Star spots to be decided by online vote.

It made William Nylander one of the most notable misses as Matthews’ teammate ranked fifth in league scoring with 51 points entering Thursday’s game. New York Rangers star Artemi Panarin was one spot up on the NHL’s scoring charts, but was passed over in favor of Rangers goaltender Igor Shesterkin.

This format required McDavid’s Oilers teammate Leon Draisaitl to need the help of fans to get in and ensured that Quinn Hughes was the only Vancouver Canucks player with automatic entry, although Elias Pettersson, JT Miller, Brock Boeser and Thatcher Demko also had All-Star-worthy campaigns.

The league’s second leading scorer, Nathan MacKinnon, was assigned to represent the Colorado Avalanche – teammates Mikko Rantanen and Calle Makar needed fan support to book a trip to Toronto.

Finally, Stanley Cup-winning goaltender Adin Hill, who had the NHL’s best save percentage at .933 entering Thursday’s game, was left off the All-Stars preliminary list as was Vegas Golden Knights teammate Jack Eichel earned the nod instead.

Complete list of Eastern Conference players

  • Boston Bruins: David Pastrnak, F
  • Buffalo Sabres: Rasmus Dahlin, D
  • Carolina Hurricanes: Sebastian Aho, F
  • Columbus Blue Jackets: Boone Jenner, F
  • Detroit Red Wings: Alex DeBrincat, F
  • Florida Panthers: Sam Reinhart, F
  • Montreal Canadiens: Nick Suzuki, F
  • New Jersey Devils: Jack Hughes, F
  • New York Islanders: Mathew Barzal, F
  • New York Rangers: Igor Shesterkin, G
  • Ottawa Senators: Brady Tkachuk, F
  • Philadelphia Flyers: Travis Konecny, F
  • Pittsburgh Penguins: Sidney Crosby, F
  • Tampa Bay Lightning: Nikita Kucherov, F
  • Toronto Maple Leafs: Auston Matthews, F
  • Washington Capitals: Tom Wilson, F

Complete list of Western Conference players

  • Anaheim Ducks: Frank Vatrano, F
  • Arizona Coyotes: Clayton Keller, F
  • Calgary Flames: Elias Lindholm, F
  • Chicago Blackhawks: Connor Bedard, F
  • Colorado Avalanche: Nathan MacKinnon, F
  • Dallas Stars: Jake Oettinger, G
  • Edmonton Oilers: Connor McDavid, F
  • Los Angeles Kings: Cam Talbot, G
  • Minnesota Wild: Kirill Kaprizov, F
  • Nashville Predators: Filip Forsberg, F
  • San Jose Sharks: Tomas Hertl, F
  • St. Louis Blues: Robert Thomas, F
  • Seattle Kraken: Oliver Bjorkstrand, F
  • Vancouver Canucks: Quinn Hughes, D
  • Vegas Golden Knights: Jack Eichel, F
  • Winnipeg Jets: Connor Hellebuyck, G

essential reading

(Photo: Sean M. Hafey/Getty Images)

Leave a comment