Bracket, Round 1 matchups and times announced for 2024 postseason WNIT

Photo of author


Postseason WNIT | 3/18/2024 5:16:41 pm


Fort Collins, CO

– The 2024 postseason WNIT and its 48-team bracket launched with excitement this week, with times, dates and locations now secured for the 16 Round 1 games on the schedule.

it symbolizes 26th Postseason edition of the WNIT, operated by Triple Crown Sports and first held in 1998. The tournament field is made up of 11 automatic qualifiers and 37 at-large events, including a mix of Power 4 conferences as well as rising mid-major events.

The dates/time table for Round 1 and Round 2 bye opponents are as follows (Note – Teams with First Round byes are not guaranteed to play at home in Round 2):

Wednesday, March 20

UAB at Southern Miss, 7 p.m. ET
Winner plays Murray State, TBA

Eastern Kentucky at Purdue Fort Wayne, 7 p.m. ET
Winner plays Cincinnati, TBA

Boise State at Montana, 9 p.m. ET
Winner plays North Dakota State, TBA

Thursday, March 21

Monmouth at Buffalo, 6 p.m. ET
Winner plays Duquesne, TBA

UAlbany at Colgate, 6 p.m. ET
Winner plays Providence, TBA

Bowling Green at Butler, 7 p.m. ET
Winner plays Purdue, TBA

Charleston at USC Upstate, 7 p.m. ET
Winner plays Illinois State, TBA

Stetson at Florida International, 7 p.m. ET
Winner plays Troy, TBA

Northern Colorado at UTSA, 7:30 pm ET
Winner plays Wyoming, TBA

St. Louis at Central Arkansas, 7:30 pm ET
Winner plays Northern Iowa, TBA

Gamble at Oral Roberts, 8 p.m. ET
Winner plays Louisiana-Monroe, TBA

UIC at Southern Indiana, 8 p.m. ET
Winner plays Wisconsin, TBA

Cal Poly at Pacific, 9 p.m. ET
Winner plays Minnesota, TBA

Friday, March 22

Le Moyne at Niagara, 7 p.m. ET
Winner plays Vermont, TBA

UNC Greensboro at North Carolina A&T, 7 p.m. ET
Winner plays Old Dominion, TBA

UC Riverside at South Dakota, 8 p.m. ET
Winner plays Northern Arizona, TBA

Round 1 (in bracket order):

Cal Poly (17-13) and Pacific (18-14)
Boise State (21-13) and Montana (22-9)
Northern Colorado (15-15) at UTSA (17-14)
UC Riverside (18-13) at South Dakota (21-12)
Stetson (17-14) at Florida International (20-11)
UNC Greensboro (21-11) at North Carolina A&T (20-11)
UAB (18-13) and Southern Miss (18-13)
Grambling State (22-9) at Oral Roberts (21-10)
UAlbany (25-6) and Colgate (18-13)
Le Moyne (18-13) at Niagara (20-13)
Monmouth (21-9) and Buffalo (19-13)
Bowling Green (16-14) and Butler (14-16)
Eastern Kentucky (22-11) and Purdue Fort Wayne (21-12)
St. Louis (16-18) at Central Arkansas (21-11)
Charleston (21-9) at South Carolina Upstate (16-15)
UIC (18-15) at Southern Indiana (24-6)

These 16 teams received byes in the first round (in alphabetical order, not seeded):

Cincinnati (14-17)
Duquesne (20-12)
Illinois State (21-11)
Louisiana-Monroe (19-13)
Minnesota (16-15)
Murray State (20-11)
North Dakota State (21-11)
Northern Arizona (25-9)
Northern Iowa (16-15)
Old Dominion (22-9)
Providence (13-20)
Purdue (13-18)
Troy (19-11)
Vermont (22-11)
Wisconsin (13-16)
Wyoming (16-14)

The remaining schedule of the tournament is as follows:
Round 2 – March 23-26, 2024
Round 3 – March 27-29, 2024
Quarterfinals – March 30-April 1, 2024
Semifinals – April 2-3, 2024

The 2024 postseason WNIT championship game will again air on CBS Sports Network, with tipoff scheduled for Saturday, April 6 at 3 p.m. ET.

All sports are played at different schools; The 2024 postseason WNIT features 24 teams that have won at least 20 games this season.

The 2024 postseason WNIT bracket features four teams from the Missouri Valley and Sun Belt; Three teams are from the Atlantic Sun, Big Sky, Big Ten, Coastal and Summit, and two teams each will represent the American, America East, Atlantic 10, Big East, Big West, Mid-American and Mountain West. The Big 12, Big South, Conference USA, Horizon, Ohio Valley, Patriot, Metro Athletic, Northeast, Southern, Southwestern Athletic and West Coast each have a single team.

In the 2023 postseason WNIT Championship Game, Kansas topped Columbia in front of 11,701 fans in Lawrence, KS, and in 2022, South Dakota State defeated Seton Hall to take the crown. Other recent title winners include Rice (2021), Arizona (2019), Indiana (2018) and Michigan in 2017, a game against Georgia Tech that went to triple overtime.

Follow the 2024 postseason WNIT:
Twitter: @WomensNIT
Facebook: /womensNIT
Hashtag: #WNIT

Leave a comment