How Every Presidential Candidate Voted to Overturn the 2020 Election Results

Photo of author


With nine candidates in the running for president, some Republicans are raising questions about whether their votes to overturn the 2020 election results should be a factor in choosing the next leader.

The House has been in turmoil since eight Republicans joined forces with Democrats earlier this month to oust former Speaker Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) from office. Since then, the House GOP has struggled to unite behind a presidential candidate.

The Republican Party conference voted Friday in a secret election to oust Rep. Jim Jordan (R-Ohio) as the GOP nominee after he failed three times to secure the 217 votes necessary for the presidency. Jordan was the Republicans’ second nominee, after Majority Leader Steve Scalise (R-La.) decision to retreat a day after the conference narrowly voted to nominate him.

Some Republicans, like Rep. Ken Buck (R-Colo.), say candidates’ stances on who won the 2020 election will influence their votes. Buck, one of eight Republicans who voted to unseat McCarthy, told reporters on Friday that declaring President Biden the rightful winner of the 2020 election will be one of his criteria when choosing a new candidate.

McCarthy, Jordan and Scalise were among the Republicans who voted to overturn those election results.

Former Rep. Liz Cheney (R-Wyo.) said Sunday on CNN’s “State of the Union” that any candidate who voted to reject the results of the 2020 election should be disqualified from running for president.

Hours after a mob of rioters stormed the Capitol on January 6, 2021, 139 House Republicans voted to object to the election results in Arizona, Pennsylvania or both. The vote to overturn Arizona’s election results failed 121-303 and the vote to overturn the Pennsylvania results failed 138-282.

Here is how each candidate for Speaker voted on the objections:

House Majority Whip Tom Emmer (R-Minn.)

Emmer opposed objections to the Arizona and Pennsylvania election results, making him one of two presidential candidates who did not vote to overturn any of the state’s results.

Buck voted for Emmer on each of the three ballots cast for president this month. The majority whip has He also got McCarthy’s endorsementalthough the former president voted to oppose the results of the 2020 presidential election in Arizona and Pennsylvania.

Rep. Kevin Hern (R-Okla.)

Hern voted to object to the Arizona and Pennsylvania election results.

He is a staunch supporter of former President Trump and has backed the former president’s false claims that the 2020 election was stolen.

House Republican Conference Vice Chairman Mike Johnson (R-La.)

Johnson also voted to object to the election results in both Arizona and Pennsylvania.

He officially announced he is in the race for Speaker via a “Dear Colleague” letter to members on Saturday morning. he works in the House Judiciary Committee.

Representative Byron Donalds (R-Florida)

Donalds is another Republican who voted to object to the election results in Arizona and Pennsylvania.

Donalds officially announced his race on Friday night. via a post on Xthe platform formerly known as Twitter.

had received votes for the presidency from GOP holdouts during McCarthy’s 15-vote presidential race in January, and also picked up some during Jordan’s three ballots last week.

Representative Jack Bergman (R-Mich.)

Bergman voted to object to the election results in Arizona and Pennsylvania.

In a surprise move, he announced he would run for president over the weekend, promising in a statement that he would “end the deadlock and win the vote.”

Rep. Austin Scott (R-Ga.)

Scott is the second of only two candidates not to object to the Arizona or Pennsylvania results.

Scott, a seventh-term congressman, surprised many when he made a major show of support in his bid against Jordan last week, when he lost the secret ballot against Jordan in a vote of 124-81.

Representative Pete Sessions (R-Texas)

Sessions voted to object to the 2020 presidential results from Arizona and Pennsylvania.

He served as chairman of the National Republican Congressional Committee from January 2009 to January 2013. On Friday he revealed that he would run for speaker of the House, signaling that he is ready to take on leadership of the Republican Party.

Rep. Dan Meuser (R-Pa.)

Meuser split his votes on whether to overturn the two states’ election results. He voted to maintain an objection to his home state of Pennsylvania’s election results, but did not object to Arizona’s election results.

Officially filing to run for president, according to the list of declared candidates, is House Republican Conference Chairwoman Elise Stefanik (R.N.Y.). announced on sunday.

Rep. Gary Palmer (R-Ala.)

Palmer, a five-term congressman, is the sixth presidential candidate to object to the election results in Arizona and Pennsylvania.

It was a surprise name when Stefanik announced the candidates.

Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Leave a comment