National Society of Film Critics Names ‘Past Lives’ Best Film of 2023 – IndieWire

Photo of author


The National Society of Film Critics announced its annual film awards on Saturday, with critics meeting in New York and Los Angeles to vote on the year’s best films and performances.

The 58th annual awards honored a diverse mix of small independent films and major studio projects. Celine Song’s directorial debut “Past Lives” won the top prize, beating out heavyweight runners-up “Oppenheimer” and “The Zone of Interest” for best picture honors.

Andrew Scott won Best Actor for his performance in “All of Us Strangers”, while Sandra Huller was awarded Best Actress for her roles in both “Anatomy of a Fall” and “The Zone of Interest”. In one of the season’s most stacked categories, Charles Melton won best supporting actor for “May in December,” although Oscar favorites Ryan Gosling and Robert Downey Jr. were both named runners-up.

Even the late Jean-Luc Godard managed to win a posthumous award for Best Experimental Film for his final short film, “Trailer of a Film That Will Never Exist: Phoney Wars.”

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA - FEBRUARY 05: Teyana Taylor attends Universal Music Group's 2023 GRAMMYs After Party Celebration at Milk Studio Los Angeles on February 05, 2023 in Los Angeles, California.  (Photo by Rodin Eckenroth/Getty Images)
Barbie, from left: Ryan Gosling, Margot Robbie, 2023.  © Warner Boss.  /Courtesy Everett Collection

Keep reading for the full list of winners for the 2024 National Society of Film Critics Awards.

Best Picture: “Past Lives”
Runner up:
“Area of ​​Interest”

Best director:Jonathan Glazer, “The Zone of Interest”
Runner up:
Todd Haynes, “May December”
Christopher Nolan, “Oppenheimer”

Best film not in the English language: “fallen leaves”
Runner up:
“Area of ​​Interest”
“Anatomy of the Fall”

Best Nonfiction Film: “Menace-Plaisirs – Les Troisgros”
Runner up:
“20 days in Mariupol”
“Kokomo City”

best Actor: Andrew Scott, “All of Us Strangers”
Runner up:
Jeffrey Wright, “American Fiction”
Cillian Murphy, “Oppenheimer”

best Actress: Sandra Huller, “Anatomy of a Fall” and “The Zone of Interest”
Runner up:
Emma Stone, “Poor Things”
Lily Gladstone, “Killers of the Flower Moon”

Best Supporting Actor: Charles Melton, “May December”
Runners-up: Robert Downey, Jr., “Oppenheimer”, and Ryan Gosling, “Barbie” (tie)

best Supporting Actress: Da’Vine Joey Randolph, “The Holdovers”
Runner up:
Penelope Cruz, “Ferrari”
Rachel McAdams, “Are You There God? It’s me, Margaret.”

Best Screenplay: Sammy Burch, “May December”
Runner up:
Celine song, “Past Lives”
David Hemingson, “The Holdovers”

Best Cinematography: Rodrigo Prieto, “Killers of the Flower Moon”
Runner up:
Łukasz Zał, “Area of ​​Interest”
Hoyte van Hoytema, “Oppenheimer”

Best Experimental Film:Jean Luc-Godard’s “Trailer for a film that will never exist: Phoney Wars”

Film Heritage Award:Criterion Channel

Film Heritage Award: aspect, kim ka video, scarecrow video and videots

Special citation for a film awaiting American distribution:Victor Aris’s “Close Your Eyes”

Leave a comment