Republicans will vote today on the new candidate

Photo of author


Six of the eight Republican candidates for speaker of the House of Representatives voted to decertify the 2020 presidential election on January 6, 2021, hours after the storming of the US Capitol.

Voted to certify the results of the 2020 presidential election

Representative Tom Emmer of Minnesotathe majority whip and the highest-ranking Republican candidate for president, is one of two who voted to certify the 2020 presidential election on January 6. While acknowledging that millions of Americans did not trust the election results and said he shared the concerns of those who questioned changes to the electoral system in some states (most of which came as a result of the pandemic), Emmer condemned the riots. and said Article 2 of the Constitution and the 12th Amendment said Congress does not have the authority to discard electors who have been certified by a state legislature.

Emmer, who was first elected to Congress in 2014, has the backing of former House Speaker Kevin McCarthy, who was removed from office nearly three weeks ago.

Representative Austin Scott of Georgia, who ran for president as a protest candidate against Jordan in the House Republican conference, also voted to certify the 2020 election. In a Jan. 6 statement, he called the Capitol riots and protests “shameful.” criticism of the Capitol Police. He praised Pence for refusing to overturn states’ electoral votes and also signed a letter to congressional leaders stating that Congress “does not have the authority to overturn the votes of a state’s electors” and that his duty is only count the votes that the States send them.

Elected in 2010, Scott represents Georgia’s 8th Congressional District, near Macon.

Voted against certification of 2020 election results

Representative Jack Bergman of Michigana retired Navy lieutenant general, voted against the certification of the Electoral College results on January 6, and was also a signatory to an amicus brief supporting a Texas lawsuit to overturn the presidential election results in Georgia , Wisconsin, Pennsylvania and Michigan. all the states Trump lost.

Representative Byron Donalds of Floridawho is serving his second term in Congress, also voted against certifying the election. He was also nominated as speaker against McCarthy in January in rounds 4, 5 and 6 of the 15 rounds of voting.

He described himself during his first primary campaign as a “Trump-supporting, freedom-loving, pro-life, pro-Second Amendment black man.” He then defeated his Republican opponents by just over 770 votes.

Donalds voted against raising the debt ceiling earlier this year.

Representative Kevin Hern of Oklahoma He chairs the conservative Republican Study Committee. He announced his candidacy on Friday.

Representative Mike Johnson of LouisianaElected to Congress in 2016, he is a lawyer and former radio host.

Representative Gary Palmer of Alabama He has been in the House since 2015 and currently serves as chairman of the Republican Policy Committee. He endorsed Jordan as a speaker candidate. Palmer used to be president of a conservative think tank in Alabama.

Representative Pete Sessions of Texas He previously chaired the House Rules Committee and the National Republican Congressional Committee. Sessions, who has been in Congress for 24 years, announced his candidacy on Friday.

Read more here about the candidates running for president.

Scott MacFarlane, Aliza Chasan

Leave a comment